Planning Commission


The Planning Commission is composed of 9 citizen volunteers appointed by the Board of County Commissioners to support the Department of Community Development and to make advisory recommendations on land use planning matters to the Board of County Commissioners as authorized in the Planning Enabling Act (RCW 36.70.040). The group does not review project-specific permits. Appointees represent their constituents and the general public from their district.


  • 5:30 p.m.
  • Meets the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month
  • Meetings are held virtually. The virtual address of the meeting is on the Agenda of the meeting itself.
All meetings and formal public hearings are noticed in the newspaper of record, Peninsula Daily News.

Approved 2020 Meeting Dates

On December 4, 2019 the Planning Commission approved the following meeting dates. Meetings may be added or canceled as needed and will be noticed at least 24 hours in advance. To receive notification of any calendar changes, please sign up to be noticed at:

01/08/2020* 04/01/2020 07/01/2020 10/07/2020
01/15/2020 04/15/2020 07/15/2020 10/21/2020
02/05/2020 05/06/2020 08/05/2020 11/04/2020
02/19/2020 05/20/2020 08/19/2020 11/18/2020
03/04/2020 06/03/2020 09/02/2020 12/02/2020
03/18/2020 06/17/2020 09/16/2020 12/16/2020
 *The 01/01/20 meeting has been moved to 01-08-20.

Agendas, Minutes & Audio Recordings

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas, Minutes, and Audio Recordings

Video Recordings

While not common practice, video recordings are available for some meetings:
  • August 14, 2017 - Joint meeting with BoCC regarding Pleasant Harbor Master Planned Resort.
    • Link to transcript of the meeting: 2017-08-14 13.58 BOCC 081417_Report.pdf. If you are asked for a username and password they are Login: public; Password: publ1c (the ‘i’ in public is replaced with the number 1). Additionally, the video recording can be found by clicking on this link: (the username and password is the same as the transcript, if you are asked for it), right-clicking on the file named "2017-08-14_13.58.24.920.wmv" and choosing "save target as." It might take a few minutes, but then a window will pop up asking you where you want to save the file and once it is downloaded another message will pop up letting you know it's ready to view.
  • March 5, 2014 - Joint workshop with City on Housing & Populations.
    • Presentations by: Jefferson Public Health and Habitat for Humanity
  • May 7, 2014 - Joint workshop with City on Agriculture and Economic Development.
    • Guest Speakers: David Engel, Peter Quinn, Judy Alexander, Robert Greenway, Al Latham, Dr. Laura Lewis


The current composition of the Planning Commission is as follows, with expiration date of respective 4-year terms of service. A district map can be found HERE.

District 1

  • Arlene Alen
    Term expires: March 17, 2024
  • Kevin Coker
    Term expires: March 17, 2023
  • Cynthia Koan
    Term expires: March 17, 2021

District 2

  • Matt Sircely, Vice Chair
    Term expires: March 17, 2021
  • Lorna Smith
    Term expires: March 17, 2022
  • Vacant
    Term expires: March 17, 2023

District 3

  • Richard Hull, Chair
    Term expires: March 17, 2021
  • Chris Llewellyn
    Term expires: March 17, 2022
  • Michael Nilssen
    Term expires: March 17, 2024